Training Information

Training Name

Introduction to Surveying for Continuing and Acute Care Providers (ISCACP)

Activity Code


Training Description

The ISCACP training is intended to introduce Federal and State surveyors to survey processes associated with acute and continuing care provider facilities. This training introduces basic terminology and the observation, investigative, and interview skills surveyors use throughout the survey process. It also provides examples of documentation for several acute and continuing care provider survey types, including Hospitals, Critical Access Hospitals, Ambulatory Surgical Centers, End-Stage Renal Disease facilities, Home Health Agencies, and others. ISCACP will aid you in developing your surveyor skills and proficiency by establishing a foundational understanding of the acute and continuing care provider survey process.

Training Objectives: On completion of this training, you will be able to:

  • Identify the key components of the survey process.
  • Identify the four survey types.
  • Identify the steps of the enforcement process.

Training Duration: 16 hours

Completion Requirements: This self-paced ISCACP training includes a mandatory pretest, six learning modules, a mandatory posttest, and a CMS-approved training evaluation. Both the posttest and the evaluation must be completed to generate a certificate of completion. To pass the ISCACP training, you must score a minimum of 80% on the training posttest.

Training CEUs: N/A

Email for Questions: The training is available on-demand online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. For all technical issues and those requiring an urgent response, such as accessing the training, email; for all content-related questions, email All other comments and questions can be submitted during the training using the comment tool.


No prerequisites in addition to those indicated in the Prerequisites (Mandatory) section of the Training Plan.

Scroll to top